Wabash Literary Prize

The Wabash Literary Prize is given annually by the Southern Indiana Civil War Roundtable for the best book on a Civil War subject published in the preceding year. The award honors scholarship devoted to the war itself but is also open to works on the background and consequences of the conflict. The winning author is invited to appear as a speaker before the SICWRT.


  • Liz Varron

    Elizabeth R. Varon

    Armies of Deliverance: A New History of the Civil War

  • Kent M. Brown

    Kent M. Brown

    Meade at Gettysburg: A Study in Command

  • Evan C. Rothera

    Evan C. Rothera

    Civil Wars and Reconstructions in the Americas

Guidelines for the Wabash Literary Prize

While any book on the subject of the Civil War published in the appropriate year may qualify for consideration, entries are judged by the Wabash Committee on a variety of factors. Some of these factors include: originality of subject or treatment; historical accuracy; effectiveness of presentation; and the degree of original contribution to Civil War literature. Additional factors such as first time authors, western theater topics, etc. may also be considered.

Nomination Sources

Nominations for the Wabash Literary Price may come from publishers, authors, or members of the SICWRT. Additional nominations may be made by members of the Wabash Committee.

Submission Deadline

To be considered for this year’s award, all nominations and copies of books from publishers or authors, must be received by the SICWRT by December 30th.

Selection Date

The Wabash Literary Prize Committee will make its selection by March of the calendar year following receipt. The winning author may be scheduled to appear as a speaker before the SICWRT to receive the award.

Nomination Procedure

Publisher or Author — Submit two finished copies (no galleys) of the book, along with contact information to:

Southern Indiana Civil War Roundtable
Wabash Literary Prize Committee
Attn: Joshua Claybourn
1 Lincolnwood Drive
Evansville, IN 47715

Publishers and authors are welcome to submit more than one work for consideration.

Please address all other inquiries concerning the Wabash Literary Prize to jclaybourn@gmail.com.